Hazy Cosmic Jive

30 Oct

It seems that when we created this blog we forgot about one crucial element – “blog posts.”  So here we go.  This post is dedicated to Sagal.  Happy Birthday!  To begin, a thematically relevant tune for your enjoyment:

A couple of weeks ago it was our lovely friend Sagal’s birthday, and she loves the book and movie A Clockwork Orange.  I think this particular devotchka knows a thing about the old ultraviolence herself, eh Sagal?  We wanted to have a real horrorshow (ha. ok I’ll stop) time, so naturally we made her a clockwork themed cake to get the night started off in style:

What's it gonna be then, eh?

What’s it gonna be then, eh?

ellen's card

ellen’s card

It was received incredibly well and we all proceeded to indeed have a horrorshow night.  Some of us had sooo much fun that we used up our fun quotas for the next several days.  I’ll leave that one open to interpretation.  Oh, and Ellen also made this amazing card for her… who else agrees that Ellen could sell those shits?

Anyway, so the music. As many of us know, classical music is pretty crucial piece of the Clockwork story and particularly predominant in the movie.  I used to listen to a few of the songs from the soundtrack on repeat when I was in university and had a paper due on a tight timeline. ie. every paper I ever wrote.  It would get me all pumped up in this super weird and uncomfortable adrenaline high/anxiety-bordering-psychosis type of way.  I’m not kidding, as anyone who was there for my ‘floating head in the field’ moment can attest.  I don’t listen to that soundtrack a whole lot anymore because it takes me right back to those unsavory days living in the depths of the science library … 3am… over midterms/finals weeks… I once had to write two 25 page papers and one 10 page paper in 3 days *shudder*

Right.  So rather than the actual music from the book/movie – why not go meta – and throw in some music influenced by the film: Bowie, Ziggy Stardust era.  The one song from the Ziggy album that reeally jumps out as clockwork inspired is Sufragette City, but I kinda think Starman is a way better song, and this is my blog so whhhhhateverrr.  In the infamous performance above, Bowie’s quilted jumpsuit was inspired by Alex et. al.’s outfits in the Kubrick film.  This I learned from a visit to the AGO’s David Bowie Is… exhibit.  Rad stuff.

To bring it back to our dear Sagal I’ll sign off with another Bowie song that reminds me of her in the BEST (read: sarcasm) kind of way.  Breaking Glass, from the album Low – my personal fave Bowie album.  I won’t elaborate on the song choice, though a few of you out there will know exactly what I’m talking about.  Love you Wildcard!

2 Responses to “Hazy Cosmic Jive”

  1. Sagal November 2, 2013 at 7:01 am #

    Love this!!!

    • cq November 2, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

      coming soon: rhiannon 😉

Leave a Reply

